St. Paul, MN (KROC-AM News) - Rochester will be well represented Sunday afternoon when the Minnesota State High School League holds an induction ceremony for the 12 newest members of the organization’s Hall of Fame. Former John Marshall high school football star Darrell Thompson and the long time Lourdes High School Athletic Director Marv Peters will be among the 12 inductees scheduled to officially receive the honor during the ceremony at the InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront Hotel in St. Paul.


Darrell Thompson
Getty Images

After his record-setting high school career ended with his graduation in 1986, Darrell Thompson went to the University of Minnesota where he became the first Big 10 running back to rush more than 1000 yards in both his freshman and sophomore seasons with the Gopher football squad. He ended his college career with 4654 yards and 40 touchdowns. In between, he was named an All-Big Ten selection his freshman year and an All-American in 1988. Thompson went on to play for the Green Bay Packers after being selected 19th overall in the 1990 NFL draft. His five-year pro-football career included appearances in 60 games, during which he rushed for over 1600 yards and scored 8 touchdowns.

Lourdes High School photo
Lourdes High School photo

Marv Peters retired in June after serving 44 years as the Athletic Director at Lourdes High School. During that time, he oversaw 170 combined the trips to state tournament appearances by various Lourdes athletic teams and 45 of those appearances produced state championships. He won the athletic director job in his second year working at Lourdes, and served as head coach of the football team for nearly a decade.

The 10 other inductees are:
Krissy Wendel-Pohl
Richard Eldridge
Larry Gallagher
Todd Hering
Harry Kitts
Dwight Lundeen
Kevin Merkle
Bill Miles
Bruce Phelps
Heather Van Norman

More From Quick Country 96.5