Quick Country 96.5 logo
Get our free mobile app

Do I have exciting news for you!

Beginning in the new year, you will no longer have to choose between a paycheck and recovering from an illness. Your employer will be required to give you paid sick time off. Let's break this down even further.

Also See: Thieves Return, Leaving Rochester Restaurant in the Dark Again.

Minnesota’s newest law goes into effect January 1st. The sick and safe time law is paid leave employers must provide to employees in Minnesota that can be used for more than just a sick day for you. You can also use it to care for a sick family member OR to seek assistance if you or a family member has experienced domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking.

How do you know if you're eligible for sick and safe time:
As long as you are not an independent contractor and you work at least 80 hours in a year for a Minnesota employer, you are eligible. Temporary and part-time employees are also eligible.

How much sick and safe time can employees earn?
An employee earns one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked and can earn a maximum of 48 hours each year (or six 8 hour shifts) unless the employer agrees to a higher amount.

Lastly, sick and safe time must be paid at the same hourly rate an employee earns when they are working.

Also see: Minnesota's Most Popular Google Searches of 2023. 

The current law expires with the 2023 year. You can read more about it by clicking here.

11 Picture-Perfect Minnesota Airbnb's to Stay in This Winter

If you're looking for the perfect escape this winter, look no further! Check out these picture-perfect Minnesota Airbnb's that you can stay in this winter.

Gallery Credit: Carly Ross

More From Quick Country 96.5