How Long Minnesota Kids are Required to be in a Child Seat
The day my son figured out how to buckle himself into his car seat was a really good day. I know that sounds silly, but parents will tell you what a hassle getting kids in and out of their safety seats can be. Did you know that Minnesota kids are required by law to be in a child seat until they are 8-years-old or 4 feet 9 inches tall - whichever comes first?
Below is important info from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety:
Keep your child rear-facing as long as possible. Your child should remain in a rear-facing car seat until he or she reaches the top height or weight limit allowed by your car seat’s manufacturer.
Keep your child in a forward-facing car seat with a harness and tether until he or she reaches the top height or weight limit allowed by your car seat’s manufacturer.
Booster seats - Use after outgrowing a forward-facing harnessed restraint.
The DPS says children should always be in the backseat. The video below shows what could happen if your child is sitting in the front seat when the airbag deploys:
HOW TO DRIVE SAFELY WHEN DEER ARE AROUND